School of Law

David J. Herring, Dean
School of Law, Bratton Hall
MSC11 6070
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001
(505) 277-4700

Distinguished Professor
James W. Ellis, J.D., University of California-Berkeley

Marsha Baum, M.S.L.S., Columbia University; J.D., SUNY at Buffalo
Reed Benson, J.D., University of Michigan
Barbara E. Bergman, J.D., Stanford University
Sherri L. Burr, J.D., Yale University
Barbara Creel, J.D., University of New Mexico
Ellen Gauna, J.D., University of New Mexico
David J. Herring, J.D., University of Michigan
Scott Hughes, LL.M., Temple University
April Land, LL.M., Georgetown University (Associate Dean, Clinical Education)
John P. LaVelle, J.D., University of California-Berkeley
Nathalie Martin, LL.M., Temple University (Associate Dean, Faculty Development)
Alfred D. Mathewson, J.D., Yale University
Max Minzner, J.D., Yale University (Associate Dean, Academic Affairs)
Jennifer Moore, J.D., Harvard University
Aliza Organick, J.D., University of New Mexico
Sergio Pareja, J.D., Georgetown University
Carol Parker, J.D., Wayne State University MSI, University of Michigan (Associate Dean for Finance)
Carol Suzuki, J.D., Columbia University
Lu-in Wang, J.D., University of Michigan
Kevin Washburn, J.D., Yale University
Christine Zuni Cruz, J.D., University of New Mexico

Associate Professor
Camille Carey, J.D., University of California-Los Angeles

Assistant Professors
George Bach, J.D., University of New Mexico
Yael Cannon, J.D., Stanford University
Serge Martinez, J.D., Yale University
Alex Ritchie, J.D., University of Virginia
Dawinder Sidhu, J.D., George Washington School of Law
Kevin Tu, J.D., University of Washington
Jeannette Wolfley, J.D., University of New Mexico

Legal Writing Instructors
Scott England, J.D., Northwestern University
Steven Homer, J.D., Harvard University
David Stout, J.D., University of New Mexico

Professors Emeriti
Barbara Blumenfeld, J.D., Wayne State University
Michael B. Browde, J.D., Georgetown University
Robert J. Desiderio, J.D., Boston College
Charles T. DuMars, J.D., University of Arizona
Willis H. Ellis, J.D., Indiana University
Myron Fink, M.S.L.S., Columbia University; LL.M., New York Law School
Denise Fort, J.D., Catholic University of America
Christian G. Fritz, Ph.D., University of California-Berkeley; J.D., University of California, Hastings
Richard A. Gonzales, J.D., New York University
Frederick Hart, LL.M., New York University
G. Emlen Hall, J.D., Harvard University
Michele S. G. Hermann, LL.M., Harvard University
Ruth L. Kovnat, LL.B., Southern Methodist University
William T. MacPherson, Jr., J.D., University of New Mexico
Jose L. Martinez, J.D., University of California-Berkeley
Margaret Montoya, J.D., Harvard University
J. Michael Norwood, J.D., University of New Mexico
Mario E. Occhialino, Jr., J.D., Georgetown University
Theodore Parnall, J.D., University of New Mexico
Elizabeth Rapaport, Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University; J.D., Harvard University
Leo M. Romero, LL.M., Georgetown University
Robert L. Schwartz, J.D., Harvard University
Antoinette Sedillo Lopez, J.D., University of California-Los Angeles
Gloria Valencia-Weber, J.D., Harvard University
Peter A. Winograd, LL.M., New York University
Sheryl Wolf, LL.M., Yale University


The State Bar of New Mexico having previously adopted a resolution to that end and the Legislature having financial provision, the Regents of The University of New Mexico, on March 31, 1947, as expressly authorized by Laws 1889, Ch. 138, Sec. 15, approved the establishment of a School of Law.


The school is fully accredited; it was approved by the American Bar Association on February 24, 1948, and membership in the Association of American Law Schools was granted in December 1948.

Additional Information

Detailed information for the School of Law is contained in the School of Law Bulletin and Handbook of Policies.


The School of Law Policy on academic retention and suspension, found in the School of Law Bulletin and Handbook of Policies, governs law students with regard to academic probation, suspension and dismissal.

Transfer Procedures

The School of Law accepts a limited number of transfer students who have completed one full-time year at other ABA-approved law schools. Transfer applicants are considered for admission only if they 1) have outstanding records at the law school previously attended; or 2) are in good standing at the law school previously attended, are residents of New Mexico and have a compelling reason to continue their legal education at the University of New Mexico. Credits earned at other law schools that do not meet their minimum graduation requirements are not acceptable for transfer credit to the University of New Mexico School of Law. Information about the procedure for applying to the School of Law is contained in the School of Law Catalog. The deadline for submitting transfer applications is June 15. The deadline for completing a transfer application file is July 15. If admitted with advanced standing to the University of New Mexico Juris Doctor degree program, the student’s right to continue in that program depends entirely on work done at the University of New Mexico. Transfer students are ineligible for certain prizes and awards given by the Law School.

Associated Departments

Juris Doctor

Course Search:

Keyword Search:

Office of the Registrar

MSC 11 6325
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Phone: (505) 277-8900
Fax: (505) 277-6809