President Schmidly

Message from the President

Another year has come and gone at one of the finest research institutions in the nation, and with that brings exciting new opportunities, challenges and changes.  This academic year, more than 4,000 students will graduate from UNM and will be ready to use their skills and talents in a wide range of sectors.  This coming year will also bring exciting new changes to our incoming freshmen who will begin their academic journey at UNM.

The University has come together these past few months and developed a new conceptual framework around which all of UNM’s operations are centered.  Each area is now aligned and connected to our four key areas of focus: Student Success, Excellence in Research, Healthy Communities, and Economic and Community Development.  Together, we have created a strategy centered on excellence and we will work to make each one of the more than 200 degree programs described in this catalog as strong and rewarding as possible.  In addition to the support that I know the faculty and staff are ready to provide, there are many student services, interest groups, extra-curricular and residence life activities that are ready and waiting to help support the mission, vision and values of UNM.

Today, more than ever, our University needs to be ready to meet the needs of an ever-changing global society.  In doing so, we have developed an exciting set of curriculum from which to choose.  Please join us in meeting the changes and challenges that face our University, city, state, nation and world.  We’re looking forward to the next exciting set of opportunities that awaits each one of us.  Welcome to the University of New Mexico!

Go Lobos!

President's Signature
David J. Schmidly


Carolyn J. Abeita, Isleta Pueblo
Donald L. Chalmers, Santa Fe
Emily “Cate” Wisdom, Albuquerque
J.E. “Gene” Gallegos, Santa Fe
Jack L. Fortner, Farmington
James H. Koch, Santa Fe
Raymond G. Sanchez, Albuquerque


The Honorable Bill Richardson
Governor of New Mexico, Santa Fe

Veronica Garcia
Secretary of Public Education, Santa Fe

Viola Florez
Secretary of Higher Education, Santa Fe


David J. Schmidly, Ph.D. President
Carmen Alvarez Brown, M.S. Vice President Enrollment Management
Josephine De Leon, Ph.D. Vice President Equity and Inclusion
Jeronimo Dominguez, Ph.D. Vice Provost Extended University
Julia E. Fulghum, Ph.D. Vice President, Research
David W. Harris, B.B.A. Executive Vice President Administration
Michael Kingan, M.P.A. Vice President Institutional Advancement
Gilbert Gonzales, Ph.D. Chief Information Officer
Elizabeth Miller, Ph.D. Acting Director, Rio Rancho Operations and Branch, Academic Affairs
Paul Roth, M.D. Executive Vice President Health Sciences
Helen Gonzales, M.B.A. Vice President Human Resources
Eliseo Torres, Ed.D. Vice President, Student Affairs
Suzanne Trager Ortega, Ph.D. Provost/Executive Vice President Academic Affairs


Martha Bedard, M.L.S. University Libraries
Douglas M. Brown, M.B.A.. Dean of Robert O. Anderson School of Management
Uday Desai, Ph.D. School of Public Administration/Director
Nancy Ridenour, Ph.D. College of Nursing
Arup Maji, Ph.D. Interim, School of Engineering
Brenda J. Claiborne, Ph.D. College of Arts and Sciences
Finnie Coleman, Ph.D. University College
Richard Howell, Ph.D. College of Education
James Linnell, Ph.D. College of Fine Arts
Rita Martinez Purson, Ph.D. Division of Continuing Education
John A. Pieper, Pharm.D. College of Pharmacy
Paul B. Roth, M.D. School of Medicine/Executive Vice President, Clinical Affairs
Roger L. Schluntz, M.A . School of Architecture and Planning
Kevin Washburn, J.D. School of Law
Amy Wohlert, Ph.D. Dean of Graduate Studies


Sylvia Andrews, Ph.D. Executive Director, Gallup Campus
Alice Letteney, Ph.D. Executive Director, Valencia Campus
Catherine M. “Kate” O’Neill, Ed.D. Executive Director, Taos Campus
Cedric Page, Ph.D. Executive Director, Los Alamos Campus


Karen Abraham, Ed.D. Alumni Relations/ Executive Director, Alumni Association
Steven Beffort, B.A. Associate Vice President Business Development & Auxillary Enterprises
Randy Boeglin, M.A. Dean of Students/Director of Residence Life
Ava Lovell, B.S., C.P.A. Vice President Business and Finance, University Controller
Christine Chavez, C.P.A. Internal Audit
Mark P. Chisholm, M.S. Institutional Research
Jennifer Crabb, M.A. Career Services
Andrew Cullen, B.B.A., M.L.A. Associate Vice President Institutional Planning
Polly Anderson, B.A. General Manager/CEO, KNME-TV
Wynn Goering, Ph.D. Vice Provost Academic Affairs
Theresa Ramos, M.A. Interim Director, Office of Equal Opportunity
Kathleen Guimond, B.A. Chief of Police
Richard Holder, Ph.D. Deputy Provost, Academic Affairs
Mary Kenney, M.A.P.A., M.A.C.R.P. Associate Director, Health Sciences Center Facility Planning
Elizabeth G. Kerkmans, B.A. Assistant Controller/Bursar
Beverly Kloeppel, M.D. Director, Student Health Center
Paul Krebs, M.A. Vice President Athletics
Roger Lujan, A.I.A. Interim, University Architect
Brian Malone, M.B.A. Student Financial Aid
Stephen McKernan, M.A. CEO, The University of New Mexico Hospital
Susan McKinsey, B.A., M.A Director University Communication & Marketing
Walter Miller, Ed.D. Associate Vice President, Student Development/Director, New Mexico Union
Rosalie Otero, Ph.D. University Honors and Undergraduate Seminar Program
K. Lee Peifer, J.D. Interim, University Counsel
Curtis Porter, M.A. Associate Vice President Planning, Budget & Analysis
Marc Saavedra, B.A. Director, Office of Government Affairs
Kathleen F. Sena, B.S. Registrar
Melanie Sparks, B.A. Director of Bookstores, Lobo Card
Tom Tkach, B.S. Director, Popejoy, Public Events
Vivian Valencia, B.B.A. Secretary of the University
Mary Vosevich, B.S. Director, Physical Plant Department
Cheryl Willman, M.D. Director, The University of New Mexico Cancer Research and Treatment Center
Luther Wilson, B.A. University Press

Course Search:

Keyword Search:

Office of the Registrar

MSC 11 6325
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131

Phone: (505) 277-8900
Fax: (505) 277-6809